Oklahoma Senior Placement — home
OklahomaSenior Placement
Every community vetted, every outcome verified.
BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST
Assisted LivingMemory Care

Brookdale Oklahoma City Southwest

10001 SOUTH MAY AVENUE, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73159

Monthly Cost

Starting at $8,285/mo

Licensed Beds

40

County

CLEVELAND

Care Type

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Starting price — actual cost depends on care level and room type. Call Paul for a personalized quote at no cost to your family.

What it’s like

Brookdale Oklahoma City Southwest is a dedicated memory care community at 10001 South May Avenue in Oklahoma City, offering person-centered Alzheimer's and dementia care that helps residents "stay connected to who they are." Care follows a gentle daily schedule with familiar caregivers, and 24/7 trained staff are on hand for emergencies. Shared spaces include a fireside living room, library, theatre, game room, art studio, and a landscaped courtyard and garden, with an on-site chicken coop adding a homelike, engaging touch.

Daily life is built around the Clare Bridge program, which Brookdale describes as "leading the way in person-centric memory care for over 30 years," including Clare Bridge Solace for advanced dementia. Soft sensory experiences such as music and pet visits support comfort and meaning, and dementia-friendly dining uses contrast and simplicity design principles. Dining, housekeeping, health and wellness programs, and transportation are included, and virtual scrapbooks help families stay connected.

BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 2BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 3BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 4BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 5BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 6BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 7BROOKDALE OKLAHOMA CITY SOUTHWEST photo 8

Community Care and Amenities

Care levels, room types and features at Brookdale Oklahoma City Southwest. Not sure which of these your loved one actually needs? That’s where I can help — most families are guessing at this part, and guessing wrong is expensive.

  • Memory Care
  • Private Apartment
  • Semi-Private Room
  • Restaurant-Style Dining
  • Social Activities
  • Housekeeping & Laundry
  • Fitness & Wellness
  • Beauty Salon
  • Outdoor Courtyard
  • Transportation
  • 24-Hour Staff
  • Medication Management
  • Respite / Short-Term Stays
  • Incontinence Care
  • Veterans / VA Benefits
  • Memory care (Clare Bridge, incl. Clare Bridge Solace)
  • Dementia-friendly dining
  • Housekeeping
  • Health and wellness programs
  • Emergency alert system
  • Parking
  • Library
  • Beauty/barber shop
  • Courtyard and garden
  • Porch
  • Game room
  • Theatre
  • Art studio
  • Wi-Fi
  • Landscaped grounds
  • Whirlpool
  • Fireside living room
  • Keypad entry
  • Piano
  • Clare Bridge memory care (30+ years person-centric dementia care)
  • Clare Bridge Solace for advanced dementia
  • On-site chicken coop
  • Virtual scrapbooks for family connection
  • Dementia-friendly dining using contrast and simplicity design

State Inspection Record

Oklahoma inspects every assisted living and memory care community on a regular schedule, plus any time a complaint comes in. Inspectors are state employees, not part of this site — what follows is what they found, in their own words.

Built by Paul Swales, a senior placement advisor, from Oklahoma State Department of Health inspection records — not from reviews. Assisted living and memory care have no federal star rating.

What state inspectors found

2 inspections in the last two years · 1 with no deficiencies cited · 1 with findings

Brookdale Oklahoma City Southwest had two state surveys in this window. Its annual relicensure inspection on October 8-9, 2025 was clean, with no deficiencies cited. The timing matters, though: the abuse incident described below happened on the weekend of October 4-5, 2025 — before that clean inspection — and was not reported to the state until October 10, the day after the inspection ended. In a complaint investigation on October 22-23, 2025, the state confirmed the community's own finding that a certified medication aide had cursed at and menaced residents, saying things like 'don't hit me or I'll hit you back,' and, with one resident who was hollering during personal care, put a hand over that resident's mouth. Three of the four sampled residents were affected, and all three had a dementia or Alzheimer's diagnosis. Staff who witnessed the incident over the weekend did not report it until midweek; the community then did not report it to OSDH within the required one business day, never notified the residents' physicians, and did not notify families until October 22 — 12 days after the allegation. Two deficiencies were cited — one covering residents' right to be free from abuse and neglect, one covering incident-report timelines — and the state scored both as isolated, touching one or a few residents. OSDH stated no actual harm was identified and said it would not recommend penalties at that time. The community's plan of correction was accepted, and an offsite paper revisit on December 12, 2025 found it back in substantial compliance effective December 8.

  • During the abuse complaint investigation later that month, inspectors toured the building watching how staff interacted with and assisted residents, and looked at residents for signs of injury or distress. 10-23-2025
  • The community's own internal investigation substantiated the allegation rather than dismissing it — its final incident report concluded abuse had occurred, based on eyewitness accounts. 10-23-2025
  • The state accepted the community's written plan to fix the notification and reporting problems. 10-23-2025
  • An offsite paper review of the community's documentation on December 12, 2025 found it back in substantial compliance, with corrections effective December 8, 2025. 10-23-2025
Show all 5 findings
  • The community's annual state relicensure inspection on October 8-9, 2025 came back with no deficiencies cited. (Timing note: this inspection took place after the October 4-5 incident that was later substantiated as abuse, but before that incident was reported to the state on October 10.) 10-09-2025

What the state also noted

  • The clean 10-08/10-09-2025 relicensure survey does not clear the abuse. The incident occurred the preceding weekend (10/04-10/05) and was not reported to OSDH until 10/10/25, so the surveyors on the relicensure visit had no knowledge of it.
  • An October 2025 complaint investigation substantiated staff abuse of residents with dementia. Two deficiencies were cited, each at a level indicating the problem was isolated to one or a few residents, for failing to notify physicians, for notifying families 12 days late, and for failing to report to OSDH within one business day.
  • The abuse itself was substantiated by the facility's own final incident report based on eyewitness accounts — this is a real, sustained finding, not an unproven allegation. Three of the four sampled residents (#1, #2, #4) were affected, and all three had a dementia or Alzheimer's diagnosis.
  • Staff who witnessed the conduct did not report it promptly. The ED said the associates who reported 'were new, and did not know what to do,' and that because 'the staff witnessed the abuse on the weekend and not reported until mid-week, it was not reported timely.'
  • The executive director also described the same employee hitting the community's chickens with a shovel, described as concerning behavior in addition to the resident allegations.
  • The surveys do not confirm the aide was terminated. The health and wellness director explained the family-notification delay by saying they 'were waiting for the final approval to terminate the CMA and the investigation was over.' No document in the bundle confirms the termination was completed.
  • OSDH stated that 'no actual harm' was identified and said it would not recommend remedies 'at this time,' while warning remedies would be recommended if the deficiencies were not corrected. The deficiencies were still found to represent the potential for more than minimal harm.
  • The December 12, 2025 revisit was an offsite/paper review of submitted documentation, not an on-site inspection. No surveyor returned to the building to observe conditions.
  • Only two surveys fall inside the 24-month window, so this is a limited window on the community's history.

Summarized from Oklahoma State Department of Health survey documents. Inspections are a snapshot of specific days and sample a small number of residents.

Full inspection history

Every inspection Oklahoma has on record for this community. The rating is based on the last 2 years, so a community is not scored on something it corrected long ago — but the older record is here to read either way.

Counts toward the rating

  • 2025-10-23Complaint investigation

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure allegations of abuse were reported within 1 business day of the incident to OSDH for 3 ( #1, 2, and #4) of 4 sampled residents reviewed for abuse.
  • 2025-10-09Routine inspection

    No deficiencies were cited

Earlier inspections on record (4) — not counted toward the rating
  • 2024-05-02Routine inspectionhistory

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2023-04-12Routine inspectionhistory

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2022-03-10Complaint investigationhistory

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2021-08-10Complaint investigationhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to care plan fall prevention interventions for one (#3) of four sampled residents for fall prevention.
    • The community failed to ensure a fall mat was in place for one (#4) of 4 sampled residents for fall prevention interventions.

These are the state’s own inspection reports, which anyone can request from the Oklahoma State Department of Health. We read them; we don’t write them.

Want the actual survey? Enter your contact information and we’ll email it to you.

My help finding the right community costs your family nothing.

You never pay me — the community pays my fee, and only if someone I introduce moves in. And one person calls you back: me, not a call center.

  • The price above is not the price you’ll pay. Care-level charges, community fees, medication management and second-person fees all stack on top of that base rate. I’ll walk you through what this community really charges for someone in your loved one’s situation — and push to get the move-in fee and deposit reduced.
  • Whether they have a room, and would take your loved one. I’ll find out what’s actually open right now and whether they’d genuinely accept this level of care, before you spend a morning touring.
  • How it compares to the others nearby. I hold the same state record for every community in the metro. Their sales office will never tell you the place four miles away has a cleaner history.
Call Paul · (405) 655-5309
Call me before you contact a single community.One conversation usually saves a family weeks, and costs you nothing — here’s why, and how I get paid.
Paul Swales, Senior Placement Advisor at Oklahoma Senior Placement

I’m Paul Swales, and this is what I do all day. A senior placement advisor is the person who finds the right community for your family and does the hard part for you. I’ve read the state health department’s inspection record on every community in this metro. I know which ones will genuinely take your loved one’s level of care, and I make the calls — so you’re not doing this alone at eleven at night on your phone.

It works like a buyer’s agent in real estate. Your family never pays me. The community pays my fee, and only if someone I introduce actually moves in. There’s no cost to your family and no obligation to keep using me.

The one catch is the order. They only pay my fee if I introduce you before you contact them yourself. Call them first and you’re a walk-in — I can’t step in as your advocate after that. It costs your family nothing either way. It only decides whether you have someone on your side.

Your next step

Oklahoma Senior Placement can get you current availability, the real monthly price, and a tour at Brookdale Oklahoma City Southwest — at no cost to your family.

  • Unbiased advice on communities, at no cost to your family
  • Help with tours, comparisons, questions
  • Serving the Oklahoma City and Tulsa metros
Call Paul now — (405) 655-5309
or request a tour

Pick a Date

Tour Type

By submitting, you agree Oklahoma Senior Placement may contact you by phone and email about this tour request. Texting is optional and never required. We never sell your information or share your phone number with third parties for marketing. See our Privacy Policy.

Location

10001 SOUTH MAY AVENUE, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73159