Oklahoma Senior Placement — home
OklahomaSenior Placement
Every community vetted, every outcome verified.
LEGEND AT RIVENDELL
Assisted LivingMemory Care

Legend At Rivendell

13200 SOUTH MAY AVE, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73170

Monthly Cost

$4,895 – $6,000/mo

Licensed Beds

151

County

CLEVELAND

Care Type

Assisted Living & Memory Care

Starting price — actual cost depends on care level and room type. Call Paul for a personalized quote at no cost to your family.

What it’s like

Legend at Rivendell is a Legend Senior Living community near Earlywine Park in south Oklahoma City, blending convenience with warmth in its approach to senior living. The community emphasizes comfort, dignity, and connection, creating a rhythm of life that feels reassuring and meaningful, with the courtyard serving as a central gathering hub. Amenities include a bistro cafe, dining room, private dining, fitness center, hair salon, spa, library, and an on-site post office.

Associates provide continuous 24/7 support across assisted living and memory care while residents maintain independence and meaningful social connections. Memory care is built around familiar routines and trusted therapies, and companion-services, life-enrichment, and wellness programs keep residents engaged, with regular outdoor events during the summer months.

LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 2LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 3LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 4LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 5LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 6LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 7LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 8LEGEND AT RIVENDELL photo 9

Community Care and Amenities

Care levels, room types and features at Legend At Rivendell. Not sure which of these your loved one actually needs? That’s where I can help — most families are guessing at this part, and guessing wrong is expensive.

  • Assisted Living
  • Memory Care
  • Restaurant-Style Dining
  • Social Activities
  • Fitness & Wellness
  • Beauty Salon
  • Outdoor Courtyard
  • 24-Hour Staff
  • Medication Management
  • Respite / Short-Term Stays
  • Incontinence Care
  • Veterans / VA Benefits
  • 24/7 associate support
  • Companion services
  • Bathing and dressing assistance
  • Mobility/transfer assistance
  • Life enrichment programs
  • Wellness programs
  • Dining room with specialized dining experiences
  • Bistro cafe
  • Private dining
  • Fitness center
  • Hair salon
  • Spa
  • Library
  • Post office
  • Activity room
  • Courtyard
  • Near Earlywine Park
  • Memory care built around familiar routines and trusted therapies
  • On-site fitness center and post office
  • Summer outdoor events
  • Courtyard gathering hub

State Inspection Record

Oklahoma inspects every assisted living and memory care community on a regular schedule, plus any time a complaint comes in. Inspectors are state employees, not part of this site — what follows is what they found, in their own words.

Built by Paul Swales, a senior placement advisor, from Oklahoma State Department of Health inspection records — not from reviews. Assisted living and memory care have no federal star rating.

What state inspectors found

4 inspections in the last two years · 1 with no deficiencies cited · 3 with findings

Legend at Rivendell has had four OSDH surveys in the past two years, and three of them resulted in citations. Only one - an April 2025 complaint visit - closed with no deficiencies cited; on that visit the inspector found the building clean and odor-free, residents well groomed and in clean clothing, and described all staff-resident interactions as positive. Entrance tours in March 2025 and a January 2026 investigation were also favorable on the everyday basics: adequate staffing on the memory care units, no odors or hazards, well-groomed residents, and meals that surveyors sampled and found palatable, nutritious and served at the right temperature. Two of the three March 2025 complaints closed without a related citation. But the record is not clean. The most recent survey, February 2026, cited the center for failing to keep a resident free from abuse: an incident report described video of an aide pulling a memory care resident backwards across the floor by the forearms, about 8 feet, into their room. The facility did not catch this itself - a camera monitoring service paid for by the resident's family reported it a week after it happened, and the aide had not filed the required incident report. In January 2026, seven complaints were investigated together and produced two citations: a medication given without a physician's order, and a failure to report an alleged neglect incident to the Oklahoma Nurse Aide Registry - the underlying incident being an aide leaving a resident documented as blind unattended in the bathroom and then leaving the facility without finishing that resident's care. The March 2025 relicensure survey cited four separate tags, including a medication withheld against physician orders, missed hand hygiene during a medication pass, an abuse incident not reported to law enforcement or DHS, and medications left unsecured. The center filed correction plans in each case and the state found substantial compliance on follow-up, though every one of those follow-ups was an offsite paper review rather than a return inspection. Families should ask the administrator directly about the February 2026 abuse finding, what changed in fall-response and incident-reporting practice, and how the center identifies problems without a family's private camera.

  • The February 2026 abuse citation was likewise reported corrected effective March 6, 2026, and an offsite paper revisit on 04/21/26 - again a document review rather than a return visit - found the facility in substantial compliance. 02-13-2026
  • During the January 2026 investigation, surveyors sampled two of the meals that were also served to residents and found the food at an appropriate temperature, palatable and nutritious. The same report states residents were well-groomed. 01-08-2026
  • The January 2026 citations were reported corrected: an offsite paper revisit on 02/09/26, based on documents the center submitted rather than a return visit, found the facility in substantial compliance. 01-08-2026
  • During an April 2025 complaint visit, the inspector found the building clean and free of odors, and noted that residents were well groomed and in clean clothing. No deficiencies were cited from that visit. 04-14-2025
Show all 8 findings
  • In that same April 2025 visit, the inspector watched staff and residents together and described every interaction as positive, and concluded the center had acted appropriately on the concern that prompted the visit. 04-14-2025
  • During the March 2025 licensure survey, the surveyor's entrance tour found enough staff working on every memory care unit, no odors or hazards, and residents who were well groomed and showed no signs of distress. 03-12-2025
  • A March 2025 complaint alleging the center did not supervise residents well enough to prevent resident-to-resident altercations produced no citation. The surveyor reviewed the staffing schedule for the date in question and found staffing had been adequate, that interventions were put in place afterward, and that no other incidents had been reported. 03-12-2025
  • Another March 2025 abuse complaint was reviewed and the surveyor concluded the event was isolated and that the center had followed its own policies. 03-12-2025

What the state also noted

  • The February 2026 incident was not self-identified by the facility. Per the surveyor's interview with the administrator, a third-party camera monitoring company paid for by the resident's family called on 02/11/26 about a 02/04/26 incident. The center's own correction plan states the aide was terminated in part for 'failure to fill out incident report on 2/4/2026.'
  • The count of substantiated complaints is an estimate. OSDH does not state which of the seven January 2026 complaints produced the two citations, so the substantiated figure attributes both to that batch alongside the clearly substantiated March 2025 complaint (OK00078147, failure to notify law enforcement/APS) and the February 2026 complaint.
  • The favorable January 2026 observations come from seven near-identical investigative reports generated by a single two-day visit (01/07-01/08/26), not from seven independent inspections. Much of that shared language describes what surveyors set out to observe rather than what they concluded. Only 'Residents were well-groomed' and the meal-sampling sentences are stated as findings.
  • The 01-08-2026 survey cited two tags: a medication (Zofran) administered without a physician's order, and failure to report an alleged neglect incident to the Oklahoma Nurse Aide Registry. The underlying neglect report, dated 05/20/25, showed a CNA left a resident documented as blind unattended in the bathroom during care and left the facility without completing that resident's care.
  • All three follow-ups that found 'substantial compliance' (05/05/25, 02/09/26, 04/21/26) were offsite/paper revisits based on documents the facility submitted. No surveyor returned to the building to verify the corrections in person.
  • Deficiencies were cited in 3 of the 4 surveys reviewed (02-13-2026, 01-08-2026, and 03-12-2025); only the 04-14-2025 complaint visit was deficiency-free.
  • The most recent survey (02-13-2026) cited the resident rights rule covering freedom from abuse, based on an incident report describing video of a CNA pulling a memory care resident about 8 feet across the floor by the forearms. The center terminated that aide and re-educated staff on fall response and gait belt use.
  • The 03-12-2025 relicensure survey cited four tags: a blood-pressure medication withheld with no order to hold it, plus repeated missed hand hygiene during a medication pass; failure to report an abuse incident (a CMA who 'swatted resident's hand away while raising voice,' with the resident 'crying in pain') to law enforcement or DHS; medication administration documented as given when it was not; and medications left unsecured on top of a cart and in an open, unattended medication room.
  • All surveyor observations of good care are point-in-time snapshots from specific inspection days and do not describe continuous conditions.

Summarized from Oklahoma State Department of Health survey documents. Inspections are a snapshot of specific days and sample a small number of residents.

Full inspection history

Every inspection Oklahoma has on record for this community. The rating is based on the last 2 years, so a community is not scored on something it corrected long ago — but the older record is here to read either way.

Counts toward the rating

  • 2026-07-16Complaint investigation

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2026-02-13Complaint investigation

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure residents were assisted off the floor appropriately for 1 (#1) of 3 sampled residents reviewed for abuse.
  • 2026-01-08Complaint investigation

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure a resident was not administered a medication without a physician's order for 1 (3) of 8 sampled residents who were reviewed for medication administration.
    • The community failed to ensure an allegation of neglect was reported for 1 (#5) of 1 resident sampled reviewed for allegations of abuse and neglect.
  • 2025-04-14Complaint investigation

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2025-03-12Complaint investigation

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to report an abuse incident to local law enforcement or the Department of Human Services for 1 (#8) of 6 sampled residents reviewed for incident reports.
    • The community failed to ensure accurate ( documentation of medication administration for 1 (#3) of 3 residents sampled for medication administration, The DON MC identified 71 residents in memory care received medications.
Earlier inspections on record (6) — not counted toward the rating
  • 2024-05-09Routine inspectionhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure that items were labeled with the date in the refrigerators during one of two kitchen observations.
  • 2024-01-25Complaint investigationhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure bruising of unknown origin was investigated and reported to the OSDH for one (#1) of three sampled residents reviewed for abuse.
  • 2023-10-12Complaint investigationhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to administer medication according to the physician's order for four (#3, 4, 5, and #6) of 6 sampled residents who were administered medication by the center's staff.
    • The community failed to ensure a separately operating memory care had a license to operate.
  • 2022-12-02Complaint investigationhistory

    Immediate jeopardy cited

    • The community failed to ensure skill/proficiency evaluations were completed upon hire and annually for eight (#1, 3, 4,5, 6, 7, 8, and #9) of 18 CNAs reviewed for skills/competency evaluations.
    • The community failed to ensure resident assessments were signed by the resident or resident's representative for four (#7, 8, 1, and #13) of 11 sampled residents reviewed for completed resident assessments.
    • The community failed to ensure RN supervision to ensure medications were administered according to the physician orders for six (#1, 7, 2, 4, 5, and #13) of 14 sampled residents reviewed for medication administration.
    • The community failed to assess, implement care plan interventions, administer medications as ordered and coordinate care with third party providers for two residents (#1 and #4) who developed unstageable pressure ulcers.
  • 2020-03-12Complaint investigationhistory

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2020-02-14Complaint investigationhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

These are the state’s own inspection reports, which anyone can request from the Oklahoma State Department of Health. We read them; we don’t write them.

Want the actual survey? Enter your contact information and we’ll email it to you.

My help finding the right community costs your family nothing.

You never pay me — the community pays my fee, and only if someone I introduce moves in. And one person calls you back: me, not a call center.

  • The price above is not the price you’ll pay. Care-level charges, community fees, medication management and second-person fees all stack on top of that base rate. I’ll walk you through what this community really charges for someone in your loved one’s situation — and push to get the move-in fee and deposit reduced.
  • Whether they have a room, and would take your loved one. I’ll find out what’s actually open right now and whether they’d genuinely accept this level of care, before you spend a morning touring.
  • How it compares to the others nearby. I hold the same state record for every community in the metro. Their sales office will never tell you the place four miles away has a cleaner history.
Call Paul · (405) 655-5309
Call me before you contact a single community.One conversation usually saves a family weeks, and costs you nothing — here’s why, and how I get paid.
Paul Swales, Senior Placement Advisor at Oklahoma Senior Placement

I’m Paul Swales, and this is what I do all day. A senior placement advisor is the person who finds the right community for your family and does the hard part for you. I’ve read the state health department’s inspection record on every community in this metro. I know which ones will genuinely take your loved one’s level of care, and I make the calls — so you’re not doing this alone at eleven at night on your phone.

It works like a buyer’s agent in real estate. Your family never pays me. The community pays my fee, and only if someone I introduce actually moves in. There’s no cost to your family and no obligation to keep using me.

The one catch is the order. They only pay my fee if I introduce you before you contact them yourself. Call them first and you’re a walk-in — I can’t step in as your advocate after that. It costs your family nothing either way. It only decides whether you have someone on your side.

Your next step

Oklahoma Senior Placement can get you current availability, the real monthly price, and a tour at Legend At Rivendell — at no cost to your family.

  • Unbiased advice on communities, at no cost to your family
  • Help with tours, comparisons, questions
  • Serving the Oklahoma City and Tulsa metros
Call Paul now — (405) 655-5309
or request a tour

Pick a Date

Tour Type

By submitting, you agree Oklahoma Senior Placement may contact you by phone and email about this tour request. Texting is optional and never required. We never sell your information or share your phone number with third parties for marketing. See our Privacy Policy.

Location

13200 SOUTH MAY AVE, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73170