Oklahoma Senior Placement — home
OklahomaSenior Placement
Every community vetted, every outcome verified.
PRIMROSE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY OF STILLWATER
Assisted Living

Primrose Retirement Community Of Stillwater

832 S RANGE ROAD, STILLWATER, OK 74074

Monthly Cost

$4,175 – $5,265/mo

Licensed Beds

50

County

PAYNE

Care Type

Assisted Living

Starting price — actual cost depends on care level and room type. Call Paul for a personalized quote at no cost to your family.

What it’s like

Primrose Retirement Community of Stillwater is a warm, welcoming senior living community at 823 S. Range Road where comfort meets community, offering independent living, assisted living, and memory care. The person-centered care philosophy prioritizes dignity, independence, and engagement, supported by 24/7 nursing staff, a family atmosphere among residents and friendly staff, and a Life Enrichment Coordinator who organizes on-site and community activities.

Daily life is maintenance-free and social, anchored by restaurant-style, home-cooked meals prepared 365 days a year, a bistro, ice cream parlor, and pub, plus exercise classes, a movie theater, billiard room, library, chapel, and walking trails. Personal care includes bathing and dressing assistance and medication management, complemented by housekeeping, laundry facilities, complimentary scheduled transportation, an on-site beauty salon and barbershop, and a 24/7 emergency response system.

PRIMROSE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY OF STILLWATER photo 2

Community Care and Amenities

Care levels, room types and features at Primrose Retirement Community Of Stillwater. Not sure which of these your loved one actually needs? That’s where I can help — most families are guessing at this part, and guessing wrong is expensive.

  • Independent Living
  • Assisted Living
  • Memory Care
  • Apartment
  • Townhome Villa
  • Restaurant-Style Dining
  • Social Activities
  • Housekeeping & Laundry
  • Fitness & Wellness
  • Beauty Salon
  • Transportation
  • 24-Hour Staff
  • Medication Management
  • On-Site Nursing
  • Diabetic Care
  • Outdoor Courtyard
  • Incontinence Care
  • 24/7 nursing staff
  • Assistance with bathing and dressing
  • Restaurant-style home-cooked meals daily
  • Bistro, ice cream parlor and pub
  • Housekeeping
  • Laundry facilities
  • On-site beauty salon and barbershop
  • Complimentary scheduled transportation
  • Exercise classes and wellness center
  • Movie theater
  • Billiard room
  • Library and chapel
  • Walking trails
  • 24/7 emergency response system
  • Daily activities and social calendar
  • Memory Care program for Alzheimer's and cognitive challenges
  • Townhome Villas (~1,600 sq ft with garages and private courtyards)
  • Month-to-month lease flexibility after initial period
  • Life Enrichment Coordinator
  • Soundproof walls and concrete floors between apartments

State Inspection Record

Oklahoma inspects every assisted living and memory care community on a regular schedule, plus any time a complaint comes in. Inspectors are state employees, not part of this site — what follows is what they found, in their own words.

Built by Paul Swales, a senior placement advisor, from Oklahoma State Department of Health inspection records — not from reviews. Assisted living and memory care have no federal star rating.

What state inspectors found

1 inspection in the last two years · 1 with findings

Primrose Stillwater's only state inspection in this two-year window, in October 2025, produced four citations, and it was a relicensure survey combined with complaints alleging abuse, unprevented falls, a missed change in a resident's condition, falsified records, unqualified staff, and unsanitary food preparation. Two of the findings were not one-off paperwork misses: the dishwasher sanitization log had no entries from 02/01/25 to 10/14/25, which the dietary manager described as 'not been consistent and not done' and the executive director as 'very out of date, and the staff have not been doing the logs,' while the activity director, shown a second-floor refrigerator temperature log, said 'I did not know there was even a log for temperatures'; and an aide hired 06/12/25 did not complete abuse-and-neglect training until 10/07/25, past the 09/10/25 deadline. Inspectors also cited opened food with no use-by dates in two refrigerators (including a frozen lemonade concentrate with an expiration date of 10/18/24) and gaps in refrigerator temperature logs, one resident's comprehensive assessment completed 25 days after admission instead of 14, and one assessment with no registered nurse or physician signature. The report does not state which complaint allegations the state substantiated, so the citations should not be read as clearing the abuse or fall allegations — families should ask the administrator about those directly. The correction plan was accepted, and an offsite paper revisit on November 17, 2025 found the center back in substantial compliance with licensure standards effective November 13, 2025.

  • During the October 2025 visit surveyors toured the building, observed residents for abuse, neglect and personal-care concerns, watched how staff interacted with residents, and asked both residents and staff questions about abuse and abuse training. 10-16-2025
  • The state reviewed the center's health records, reported incidents, grievances and police reports as part of the investigation. 10-16-2025
  • Everything cited was corrected. The state accepted the center's correction plan and a November 2025 follow-up review found it back in compliance with licensing standards. 10-16-2025

What the state also noted

  • The OSDH cover letter dated 10/31/2025 says 'No deficiencies were cited,' contradicting the attached State Form and the 11/12/2025 letter accepting the plan of correction. The State Form, listing four deficiencies, is the governing document.
  • Four deficiencies were cited at the October 2025 survey: food labeling and temperature/dishwasher logs; a comprehensive assessment not completed within 14 days; an assessment not signed by an RN or physician; and abuse and neglect training not completed within 90 days of hire.
  • The dishwasher sanitization log showed no documentation from 02/01/25 to 10/14/25, and the executive director acknowledged 'This is very out of date, and the staff have not been doing the logs.' In a second-floor pub refrigerator the activity director described cheese as dry and not fresh and fruit as freezer-burnt, both undated, and a frozen lemonade concentrate there carried an expiration date of 10/18/24.
  • The survey does not state which of the six complaint allegations were substantiated. One allegation — that food was not prepared and served under sanitary conditions — lines up directly with the food sanitation citation, and the allegation that staff were unqualified lines up with the abuse-training citation. No citation was issued naming abuse, neglect or falls, but that is a lack of sustained evidence, not a finding that nothing occurred.
  • Only one survey fell in this 24-month window, so there is no earlier or later inspection here to show a trend. The sample was eight residents out of a census of 42, and five employee files.
  • The November 17, 2025 revisit that confirmed compliance was an offsite/paper review rather than an on-site inspection, so no surveyor verified the corrections inside the building.

Summarized from Oklahoma State Department of Health survey documents. Inspections are a snapshot of specific days and sample a small number of residents.

Full inspection history

Every inspection Oklahoma has on record for this community. The rating is based on the last 2 years, so a community is not scored on something it corrected long ago — but the older record is here to read either way.

Counts toward the rating

  • 2025-10-16Complaint investigation

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure staff were educated on abuse within 90 days of hire for 1 (CNA #2) of 5 sampled employees whose records were reviewed for training.
    • The community failed to ensure staff were educated on absue within 90 days of hire for 1 (CAN#2) of 5 sampled employees whose records were reviewed for training.
    • The community failed to ensure comprehensive assessments were completed within 14 days of admission for 1 (#7) of 8 sampled residents reviewed for completion of comprehensive assessments.
    • The community failed to ensure that assessments were coordinated and signed by a registered nurse or the resident's personal physician for 1 (#2) of 8 sampled residents reviewed for completion of comprehensive assessments.
Earlier inspections on record (5) — not counted toward the rating
  • 2024-02-12Routine inspectionhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

  • 2022-04-27Complaint investigationhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure finger a who were reviewed for background checks.
    • The community failed to ensure finger print based background checks were completed for four (#1, 2, 3, and #4) of four sampled employees who were reviewed for background checks.
  • 2020-11-20Routine inspectionhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure organized and accurate written records were maintained for three (#1, 2, and #3) of three sampled residents who were monitored two times a day for COVID-19.
    • The community failed to write the results down or the screening logs were misplaced or filed someplace else.
    • The community failed to meet C1505 expectation with lack of proper documentation of care.
  • 2019-12-04Complaint investigationhistory

    No deficiencies were cited

  • 2019-09-25Complaint investigationhistory

    Findings cited, none rising to harm

    • The community failed to ensure that third party providers were from a licensed agency, had current credentials or had background checks on those providing sitter services.

These are the state’s own inspection reports, which anyone can request from the Oklahoma State Department of Health. We read them; we don’t write them.

Want the actual survey? Enter your contact information and we’ll email it to you.

My help finding the right community costs your family nothing.

You never pay me — the community pays my fee, and only if someone I introduce moves in. And one person calls you back: me, not a call center.

  • The price above is not the price you’ll pay. Care-level charges, community fees, medication management and second-person fees all stack on top of that base rate. I’ll walk you through what this community really charges for someone in your loved one’s situation — and push to get the move-in fee and deposit reduced.
  • Whether they have a room, and would take your loved one. I’ll find out what’s actually open right now and whether they’d genuinely accept this level of care, before you spend a morning touring.
  • How it compares to the others nearby. I hold the same state record for every community in the metro. Their sales office will never tell you the place four miles away has a cleaner history.
Call Paul · (405) 655-5309
Call me before you contact a single community.One conversation usually saves a family weeks, and costs you nothing — here’s why, and how I get paid.
Paul Swales, Senior Placement Advisor at Oklahoma Senior Placement

I’m Paul Swales, and this is what I do all day. A senior placement advisor is the person who finds the right community for your family and does the hard part for you. I’ve read the state health department’s inspection record on every community in this metro. I know which ones will genuinely take your loved one’s level of care, and I make the calls — so you’re not doing this alone at eleven at night on your phone.

It works like a buyer’s agent in real estate. Your family never pays me. The community pays my fee, and only if someone I introduce actually moves in. There’s no cost to your family and no obligation to keep using me.

The one catch is the order. They only pay my fee if I introduce you before you contact them yourself. Call them first and you’re a walk-in — I can’t step in as your advocate after that. It costs your family nothing either way. It only decides whether you have someone on your side.

Your next step

Oklahoma Senior Placement can get you current availability, the real monthly price, and a tour at Primrose Retirement Community Of Stillwater — at no cost to your family.

  • Unbiased advice on communities, at no cost to your family
  • Help with tours, comparisons, questions
  • Serving the Oklahoma City and Tulsa metros
Call Paul now — (405) 655-5309
or request a tour

Pick a Date

Tour Type

By submitting, you agree Oklahoma Senior Placement may contact you by phone and email about this tour request. Texting is optional and never required. We never sell your information or share your phone number with third parties for marketing. See our Privacy Policy.

Location

832 S RANGE ROAD, STILLWATER, OK 74074